First few days

It is 11 am on my third day in Deutschland, and I’ve decided to talk about my first few adventures! I also wanted to share a few of the pictures I have taken thus far, including ones of my new home, room, and neighborhood. Today I had an appointment at the bank to set up my “cash card” (essentially a debit card) but I couldn’t find the bank… oops! Anyways, I just returned from walking Amelie and I must say I am still in awe at where the Hornig’s live. Their town, called Frechen, is more of a neighborhood that directly borders the major city of Cologne. Their subdivision is made up of gorgeous single family homes that are all impeccably maintained. However, not more than 2 blocks away are beautiful and open potato and beet fields, where the locals go running and walk their dogs. To have a place so peaceful so nearby is wonderful. The fields have many pathways that connect to different neighborhoods, but they are quite a ways away. It is simply beautiful.

The family I am living with is also wonderful. I must say, I was nervous to meet the kids for the reason that I wasn’t sure how well I’d be able to communicate with them. After saying a few introductory words to them, they both looked at me and spoke almost perfect English back to me. I was so happy! They actually speak English a little better than their parents! They are adorable and we have had a blast getting acquainted and playing. I also brought them a few pounds of candy from Ferrara Pan which they loved and ate entirely by the first night. I will post some more detailed descriptions later on but for now, it’s off the explore the area some more. Tschuss! 

Image

 

 

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Tell me what you think, and what you'd like to hear more of!