A German Birthday Party

Hi! Today we celebrated Pauline’s 6th birthday party with 12 of her friends at a sort of petting zoo type place about 20 minutes from home. It was an exhausting day, but a fun one. We also went to Pauline’s kindergarten on Saturday where she and all of her classmates had had a sleepover and performed a show for us in the morning. It was adorable. Through a combination of body language and facial expressions I am quickly picking up what people are talking about, especially at the kindergaten performance, because children are so expressive. 

Back to the birthday party. There were a few adults at the soiree but I decided to stick with the kids as they went on a treasure hunt around the farm, and eventually found the booty filled with boxes of food to feed the farm animals with. It was a hilarious ending to a very detailed treasure hunt. The funniest part of the day was the kids realizing that I didn’t yet speak any German and speaking it to me anyways. Like I said earlier though, through a combination of body language and with help from some of the other kids, I understood fairly well what they were saying to me. The kids ate sausages and we fed animals and opened presents, and I ended the day by shopping with Esther (the kids’ mother) for fresh fruit and flowers from the farm’s store.

I start my language course tomorrow evening in Koln which I am super excited for. I can’t wait to meet some friends and explore the beautiful city some more. For now, it’s time to hit the hay and recharge for another exciting day tomorrow. 

Image

Pauline’s Kindergarten show, complete with professional magician

Image

Found a little bit of home at the “English Store” in Cologne. Check out the prices- 40 Euros + a bottle deposit for a 12-pack of Sam Adams!

Image

 

 

ImageThe kids receiving the treasure map.

Image

ImageThis one’s for you, Danny!

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “A German Birthday Party

  1. DANNY says:

    LOVE DEM GOAT PELLETS!

Tell me what you think, and what you'd like to hear more of!